Category Archives: SOA Council

Newest Council Members and Council Liaisons

Although the SOA Annual meeting is over, we have a couple of new bits of information to share below:

The newest council members and treasurer have been announced!

Council Members:

  • Cate Putirskis – Special Collections Processing Manager, Ohio State University Libraries
  • Sherri Goudy – Ohio History Service Corps Member, Logan County History Center/Ohio History Connection


  • Mark Bloom – Archives Associate, Senior, The University of Akron

We also have the new list of Council Liaisons (check the various committee pages for updates soon)


Call for Nominations for Treasurer and Council Positions

The SOA Nominating Committee would like to announce a call for nominations for two open SOA Council positions and the SOA Treasurer position. Self-nominations are welcomed and encouraged, as are peer nominations. All positions are for two year terms of office.

Candidates must be current SOA members in good standing and be willing and able to attend regular council meetings and business activities (both in-person and virtually).

The election will be held during the SOA Annual Business Meeting held during the SOA Spring Meeting on Friday, May 18, 2018. Candidates will be required to write a response to a question to be printed in the Ohio Archivist prior to the election.

More details about responsibilities and terms can be located in the SOA bylaws, located here:

I would also be happy to answer any questions about the positions. Please respond to me with any nominations by Friday, January 5, 2017.

Happy Holidays!
Thank you,

Jillian Ramage 

Updates from SOA President about Committees

In an effort to keep everyone up-to-date Council wanted to share a listing of our current committees, committee chairs and Council liaisons. You may note that we have five new committee chairs: Janet Carleton (Educational Programming); Andrew Harris (Public Information); Elise Kelly (Advocacy and Outreach); Collette McDonough (Educational Programming); and Cate Putirskis (Membership). Please join me in welcoming them to their new positions. I would also like to take this time to thank our outgoing chairs for their service: Shelley Blundell (Educational Programming); Ron Davidson (Membership); and Jennie Thomas (Advocacy and Outreach). We appreciate your service and enjoyed working with you over the past year!

If you are interested in volunteering to work with a committee, please contact the committee chair using the email address provided. To learn more about each of the committees, please visit: If you have previously served/are currently serving on a committee you should be hearing from your Committee Chair regarding current and upcoming projects.

We are looking forward to working with all of you over the coming year. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call or email me using my contact information listed below.

Committee Chairs and Liaisons

• Advocacy and Outreach
o Council liaisons – Ron Davidson and Robin Heise
o Committee co-chairs – George Bain ( and Elise Kelly (

• Awards
o Council Liaison – Lonna McKinley
o Committee chair – Devhra BennettJones (

• Educational Programming Committee
o Council Liaison – Sasha Griffin
o Committee co-chairs – Janet Carleton ( and Collette McDonough (

• Membership
o Council Liaison – Mark Bloom
o Committee chair – Cate Putirskis (

• Nominating
o Council liaison – Judith Wiener (

• Public Information Committee
o Council Liaison – Jennifer Brancato
o Committee chair – Andrew Harris (

Thank you,

Jillian Carney
SOA President 2015-2017

SOA Election Results

Congratulations to incoming SOA Council members Andrew Harris and Suzanne Maggard and to re-elected SOA Treasurer Emily Gainer!  Thank you to all of the candidates for their willingness to serve on the SOA Council.

SOA 2014 New Officials